Why deleting your Facebook will take 90 days

In the recent light of Facebook’s data mining scandal exposed by consultancy firm Cambridge Analytica, users across the world are being told to delete their accounts in order to stop their personal data being used by the social media company.

A simple and common personality quiz generated more than 50 million responses which the American company used to harvest answers with Cambridge Analytica to influence and target audiences in key decisions and events such as the 2016 US Presidential campaign for Donald Trump.

 

In the recent light of Facebook’s data mining scandal exposed by consultancy firm Cambridge Analytica, users across the world are being told to delete their accounts in order to stop their personal data being used by the social media company.

A simple and common personality quiz generated more than 50 million responses which the American company used to harvest answers with Cambridge Analytica to influence and target audiences in key decisions and events such as the 2016 US Presidential campaign for Donald Trump.

The harvested ‘information’ was taken from the quiz ‘thisisyourdigitallife’ which also takes data not only from the profile of the person who has taken the quiz but also of friends of that person, as they have given consent for Global Science Research (GSR) to take data from both parties.

The data gathered took things from the social media website that the user ‘liked’ but could also take other data regardless of the users privacy settings.

Mark Zuckerburg has yet to comment on the outbreak which was revealed this week by whistleblower Chris Wylie.

Wylie claims the huge US tycoon had know for two years about the whistleblower knowing this information.

Facebook has subsequently disabled Chris Wylie’s Facebook account as well as the test creator for Cambridge Analytica Aleksandr Kogan.

Zuckerburg’s company has said that Kogan “gained access to this information in a legitimate way and through the proper channels”. Facebook then said that Kogan “did not subsequently abide by our rules”, e.g. sharing data with third parties.

 

Deleting Facebook

Cambridge Analytica’s clever and tactical methods weren’t done through things that had been searched via the like of Google and Amazon – they had been profiled in to the user.

People who use the social networking website based in California are being urgued to delete their accounts, with Whatsapp Co-founder Brian Acton tweeting “It is time. #deletefacebook”.

Users who are unsure about deleting Facebook all together can deactivate their account which means the user can log in anytime they wish if they change their mind, although they would not appear on searches while the account is deactivated.

Deleting your account completely can be a lengthy process, up to 90 days in some cases. The website does allow every user to download the data Facebook has of you. The data includes IP Address’ which have been used, and ad’s and profiles that have been clicked on.

To delete your account, head to Facebook’s Delete Account Page. Once the deleting of the account has been complete, users will not be able to obtain any data from their deleted profile, so it is highly recommended that you download your data file which can be found in general settings at the bottom of the page.

There are huge amounts of Data Policies and agreements that users of all social medias have to agree to and even not agreeing could still potentially but your friends at risk.

One of Donald Trump’s digital media campaigners, Theresa Hong believes that if it wasn’t for Cambridge Analytica’s influence Trump ‘wouldn’t have won.”

 

Jack Williams

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.